Free Marketing For You – No Joke

So here’s the deal: I’m offering one person/business my marketing services for no cost for up to six months, if the project requires it.

If you’re interesting in taking advantage of this offer, then please send me your request with as many details of what you’d like me to accomplish, or at least the area where you know you need help, but you don’t know exactly how to describe the need. Email it to me at brettduncanmail@yahoo.com, or, if you don’t mind the whole world seeing your request, leave it in the comments section here.

I will take requests through February 2, 2008. At that point, I’ll choose the one I want to work on, and let you know, and we can take it from there.

No business is too small or too big. I could see this going lots of different ways, from helping a home-based business just get the word out a bit more effectively in their town, to a major business division needing some help with strategy. From churches to retail outlets to direct sales distributors. Every business needs marketing (actually, every business is marketing, but that’s another post).

Just so you know, here are the areas in which I think I could really help out:

  • Full Marketing plans
  • Communications
  • Branding
  • Copywriting and Editing
  • Promotions and Sales Support
  • Presentations and speaking (either helping you with yours, or doing one for you)
  • Website development
  • Blog development
  • Product management
  • Email marketing
  • SEO
  • Market Research
  • A steady influx of ideas for you to consider
  • Planning and Strategy
  • Customer Focus Groups and Surveys
  • Competitive Analysis
  • Creative Work and Design (I provide the direction, but I am no designer)

There are strings attached, and here they are:

  1. I get to choose what project I want to work on, and I don’t have to account for why. I have my reasons. In a nutshell, someday (a long time from now) I might start my own marketing company, and I need to get an idea of what that means. In addition, I think we all enjoy side projects to break up the stuff we do during the day.
  2. I have a full-time job, and I won’t let this project get in the way of it.This doesn’t necessarily mean that we can’t communicate during a weekday, but just know up-front that most of the work I do on it will be at night or on the weekends. With that in mind, if I feel your needs deserve someone who can give much more attention to it, I will tell you so, and then I’ll offer you an alternative solution. You also need to be comfortable with longer timelines than a full-time employee could give you.
  3. What I do is free, but I might suggest some things that require money. Like website design, or advertising, or taking your clients on a cruise. When I can, I’ll do everything I can on my own. When I can’t, I’ll let you know, and I’ll find you some options.
  4. You have to give me feedback. The only thing I ask of you in return is to give me lots of feedback. Good, bad and ugly. And to be willing for that to be shared in writing as a testimonial should I ever decide to take this thing further.
  5. If I don’t choose your project, we still might be able to work together. If I don’t pick yours as “the free project,” I’ll still give you some ideas on how to accomplish what you want to accomplish. In some cases, I might be part of that equation. If that’s too much for you, all you have to do is tell me “no thanks.”
  6. There’s something I’m missing in the strings attached. So, just be prepared for minor “oh yeah” moments from both of us. However, rest assured, I won’t go back on trying to charge you for my services.

What do you think? Need help? Shoot me an email. Know someone else who could use the help? Pass this link along to them. This could be fun, or a huge disaster.

If you want a better idea of where I stand on marketing, just click here.

11 responses to “Free Marketing For You – No Joke

  1. Way 2 legit, Sinbad.

  2. Brett,

    This is a very interesting idea! I would love to hear how it goes. It could be very cool. And if you are the one chosen, consider yourself lucky.

  3. Bill – we’ll see what happens, huh? And thanks for the kudos. The same would be true of you. I mean, who can’t use a little Seinfeld in their marketing?

  4. good luck with this project! i can’t wait to see how this develops!!

  5. Shannon – it’s developing (partially in thanks to you for spreading the word a little). It’s gonna be tougher than I thought to pick one, but it should be fun.

  6. This is very intersting and usefull idea.I think this will be more effectively in future .

  7. Pingback: Last Chance for Free Marketing « Brett’s Blog

  8. good luck with this project

  9. exactly this Free Marketing For You – No Joke « Brett’s Blog is really nice.
    I came through one more jokesmsquote.com

  10. I think this Free Marketing For You – No Joke « Brett’s Blog got really sweet things.
    I mostly love this one jokesmsquote.com

Leave a Reply

