How Can I Make Money Blogging?

You guessed it: I’m selling out.

OK, maybe that’s a little over the top. But I am planning on moving over to WordPress.org in the next month or two so I can start monetizing my efforts here (you can’t do it on WordPress.com). After all, one of the reasons I started this blog was to understand everything blogging offers for business, and most businesses are interested in making money.

I just read this excellent post by Scott, and I’ve picked up a thing or two at ProBlogger. But I want your tips and ideas. What suggestions and advice can you leave here in the comments on how to best make money with a blog? Anything you can think of for this blog specifically? Maybe you can even write your own post on your blog in response and just trackback to this post.

Let me hear from you.

10 responses to “How Can I Make Money Blogging?

  1. Pingback: How Can I Make Money Blogging?

  2. Get out of wordpress and use your own domain. Thats it.

  3. Aaron at FullTiltBlogging

    Have a dual traffic focus:

    Short Term:

    * Current Interest Items
    * Short “Link Bait” Posts

    Long Term:

    * In depth articles designed for keyword phrase searchers

    Mix up both each week and you should have a growing readership which means more ad and affiliate dollars.

  4. just post a picture of you doing your situps without a shirt on. remember college?

  5. All good advice, except maybe the sit-ups idea. But it’s worth a shot, right?

    Aaron, could you expand a little bit on “link bait?” I know what it is, but I know there’s good link bait and bad bait.

  6. And there’s jail bait.

  7. Pingback: Link Bait: Kyla Ebbert Nude in Playboy « Full Tilt Blogging

  8. I am in the “consideration” mode of setting up a wordpress.org blog too, I need stats, more so than are provided here.

  9. What sort of stats are you looking for marshallyard? I know there is rather a long interuption of reply here, but I’ve just come across this blog post and found it interesting.

    Hope your move to WordPress.org was managed smoothly, Brett!

Leave a Reply

