Sales Tactics I Don’t Understand

Used Car SalesmanWho ever started the lie that these sales tactics work?

  • Why do used car salesmen think they have to yell at me in a dumb hick voice and tell me that “they don’t care how I git there, just git there.”
  • Why do furniture store salesmen lurk in the interior ‘circle’ of the store while you shop the perimeter of the store, popping up out of their ambush with a sniper’s attention the minute you pause for one second?
  • Why do cell phone kiosk salesmen in malls assault me every time I walk by, wanting to see my phone?
  • Why do charity telemarketers always tell me they are counting on my donation this year just like they did last year, even though I never donated last year?
  • Why do gym membership salesmen work on commission, when most people are looking for a gym that makes them comfortable, more than anything? (and there’s nothing more uncomfortable than spending time with most commissioned salespeople).
  • Why do Jehovah’s Witnesses keep showing up at my door even if I nicely tell them I’m not interested in changing religions today?

The sad thing is that most of the above tactics are based in a motivated form of trickery, aggression, lying or all of the above.

4 responses to “Sales Tactics I Don’t Understand

  1. “Why do Jehovah’s Witnesses keep showing up at my door even if I nicely tell them I’m not interested in changing religions today?”

    ooh, ooh, I know. It’s my most recent post: “How to get Rid of Jehovah’s Witnesses.” (8/1/07)

  2. I’m in the market for a car as we speak (type?) so I’m having to endure the sales pitch all the time. And what gets me about these techniques is: they wouldn’t be used if they didn’t work.

    I have no idea what poor sap is actually giving in to the pressure but I’m glad I’m not one of them. I’d be working out in a gym while talking on a new cell phone after driving in my third car this month (which I couldn’t afford because I gave my paycheck away to charity as I sat on my new couch while the Jehovah’s Witnesses were knocking at the door but I wouldn’t want to get up for my sore legs.)

  3. “You’re so wise. You’re like a miniature Buddha, covered in hair.” – Anchorman

    http://www.coaks.wordpress.com

  4. Tom – your post is interesting. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

