I always feel like . . .

 . . . somebody’s watching me (Gen Xers, let’s all sing along).

My boss was the first person to find my blog. Ends up he had a Google Alert for “AdvoCare,” and I popped up in his inbox right away.

At first, I thought this was pretty cool. Then I started thinking about the consequences.

For example, if I share a thought on how to do business better, there’s instant accountability there. If he likes the idea, I’m sure he’ll be waiting for me to live up to it. If he doesn’t like the idea, my reputation could be tarnished.

Or what if I’ve got a really good point about how NOT to do things, and he’s my source? To post, or not to post. (For the record, I probably wouldn’t post. I might be dumb, but I ain’t stupid).

I think, at some point or another, this is what every blogger must go through. It seems cool to have your ideas out there, and it is. But there’s also a sense of responsibility to walk the talk (or in this case jog the blog). Whether it’s cuz your boss is reading it, or just anyone else who can actually see if you live up to your own ideas and convictions.

Can you imagine what would happen if we all stuck to our own convictions? If we acted on just 20% of our ideas? I digress . . .

Point is, accountability is a good thing. It either pushes and disciplines you do to with your hands and feet what you know you should in your head and heart, or it keeps you from running your mouth. I know I want it; I just don’t like it.

We’ll find out if the big boss man is still reading, by the way. Doc, if you are, leave a comment.

One response to “I always feel like . . .

  1. Hi everyone,
    I’m a 39 years old woman, divorced and with children. I work as accountant, part-time, so I can spend the time to take care of the house and kids and it goes pretty good like this. During the never ending spent in my house there is something that i prefer to do in the meantime that is watching tennis on my satellite . I also love to look at comedies. I don’t evoidonce in a while to look at the news either.
    I am enough happy with my life and especially about my relationship with my kids. I just hope to remain in good health, so just an normal happy life.
    Bye Bye
    Roby

Leave a Reply

